Looking back and looking ahead…

With 99 days until Christmas (yes, I’ve been shopping for months now) I’ve started to look back on this year.  Things started off really well with The Polar Dash 5k, Get Lucky 21k (a PR!) and my first ever marathon.  After that I started to get burned out.  I muddled through the Chicago Women Half with my aunt and cousin and then I pretty much stopped training.  I recently completed the Women Rock with some really awesome ladies (recap to come soon) and I had a lot of fun, it made me miss running.
ClickHandler.ashx

After Women Rock I did a lot of thinking about where I want to go and what I’m doing in the next year and I think I came up with a plan!  I’m done with anything greater than a 10k until next years women rock.
Now, I am doing a half in October (Monster Dash), but it’s mainly for fun and so I can rock the costume contest with Jana!  I’m also signed up for two fun runs this fall–  Boyceville Light Em’ Up 5k and the Biggest Loser 5k (Eau Claire).  Which I’m really excited for.  I’m hoping for a PR at the Biggest Loser run.

My focus for the first half of 2014 is to have fun!  I’m going to do Team Ortho’s Polar Dash 5k and the Get Lucky 7k as well as Frontrunner’s Yukon Days (either the 3 mile or the snowshoe race–except I don’t have snowshoes yet….).  And that’s it.  Between January and May I’m only have 3 races planned.  I’m not saying that’s all I’m doing, because I might pick up some smaller 5k’s or even venture into a  Du or two, but I’m oddly excited to not be so scheduled!

1170767_10202161082328522_1015954203_n

In June I’m planning on doing the Minneapolis Marathon Relay and then picking up my training for Women Rock Half with my lovely ladies again.

I’m also toying with the idea of Twin Cities Marathon in 2014.  I don’t know if I’ll ever be a marathoner, but I do know I want to do TCM at least once in my life.

ClickHandler.ashxSo there it is folks, my plan to fall in love with running all over again!

 

2 thoughts on “Looking back and looking ahead…

Leave a Reply

